deployed units

ITS Federico Martinengo

ITS Federico Martinengo is the seventh Unit of the FREMM Italo-French programme, and the third in GP (General Purpose) version.

Identified by the hull number F596, the unit was built in the Fincantieri shipyard in Riva Trigoso. Outfitting was then completed in Muggiano shipyard’s floating dock (La Spezia) and Launched on 4th March 2017.

This is the first unit of the Italian Navy to bear the name of Rear Admiral Federico Martinengo, the hero decorated with the gold medal for military value.

Thanks to her platform and combat system, the ship is suitable for multimission deployments and the flight deck is capable to embark 1 EH-101 and 1 SH-90 or 2 SH-90 ASW helicopters. :

Displacing 6,700 tons, it is 144 meters long and is capable of a top speed of more than 27 knots.

ESPS CastillaFlagship

Castilla (L52) is a Galicia-class landing platform dock (LPD), and is the twelfth ship of this name. She is the sister ship to the amphibious warfare vessel Galicia. Castilla has previously served as the flagship of EU Naval Forces off the Somali coast.

Castilla was Launched in June 1999 and her home port is Rota. She has a displacement of 13,000 tonnes, 160m long and has a top speed of 20 knots. She was designed to provide command and control for amphibious operations and to serve as a command headquarters for naval staff, as well as carrying troops and materiel.

The ship has a large helicopter deck and an 885-square-metre (9,530 sq ft) well deck for large landing craft, as well as a 1,000-square-metre (11,000 sq ft) space for up to 33 main battle tanks.The vessel is especially capable for humanitarian missions due to her complete onboard hospital, and she has previously provided assistance and disaster relief off Haiti after the 2005 and 2010 disastrous earthquakes.

join our newsletter